- Milk – includes all types of milk and cream
- Cheese – including hard and soft cheeses, cottage cheese and cream cheese.
- Butter – not margarine, which is a vegetable product
- Sour Cream
- Ice Cream, Ice Milk, Frozen Yogurt, Sherbet – sorbet is OK, it is made with water not dairy
- Kosher: food that is acceptable to eat according to Jewish Dietary Law.
- Pareve: the dish is neither meat nor dairy and, therefore, can be served at any meal.
- Meat vs. Dairy: rule of thumb is that no meat or poultry can be served with dairy. Fish, eggs, grains, vegetables and fruit all can be part of a dairy or meat table.
- Trayf (or traif): Yiddish* for “not Kosher”. Pork, seafood, certain birds (like crows), fish that do not have both fins and scales, and rodents are all “trayf”. They are never part of a Kosher recipe or to be eaten in the diet of a Jewish person. Never!
Resource: The Yiddish Handbook
What goes on a Hanukkah dairy table? Some families include bagels with cream cheese and lox, challah bread and butter, tuna salad and egg salad for the festivities but know that the latkes are definitely the main-fare. How much to make? Ten pounds of potatoes will make latkes enough for a very hungry party of 10-15 people.
On film? Two of the greatest family movies about Passover are: